BamaCamaro

I saw my first new 2010 Camaro actually sitting still, appropriately in front of Bama Lanes in Montgomery, Alabama. I have seen a few driving on the road and seen lots in photos, but this was the first one parked. Of course I didn’t have my camera with me so the photo is from my crappy camera phone.

I have always wanted a Camaro but never owned one. It’s probably my only automotive regret that I haven’t owned one. It doesn’t matter what year, I love them all. I did get to drive an 1989 Camaro RS V6 a good bit in 1991 & 1992, my first wife drove one while we were dating. I will own one eventually, possibly the new generation after it is out a few years. Definitely a convertible though.

For those of you not from Montgomery, Bama Lanes has been around a loooong time. It was the nicer of the two Montgomery bowling alleys back in the 80’s when I was a teen, then the fancy new Brunswick Lanes opened in the mid 90’s and Bama Lanes was relegated to more of a “redneck” status. But back in it’s glory days in the 70’s, Bama Lanes was a popular hang out with live music on the weekends. One of Montgomery’s many musical creations named Tommy Shaw was playing here when he got the call to join a band you may have heard of named “Styx“.

Another ironic twist: the very first record I ever bought, in 1981, was the 45rpm single “The Best of Times” by Styx. It probably had more to do with the cover art on the sleeve though…

