1988 Civic DX
1988 Civic DX

While I was neglecting this blog the past few months, gas prices dropped to less than half what they had been in the summer. This slowed the amazing reappearance of what I call “Gas Classics” But they are still being revived because we all know it’s only a matter of time before gas prices go back up.  Here’s one that I have actually owned:  a 1988 Honda Civic DX.

So how do I know this is an 88 and not an 89, which looked identical?  In 1989, automobiles in the U.S. were required to have “passive restraint safety systems”.  This gave the automakers two options, either airbags or automatic seatbelts.  Surprisingly the quickest and cheapest way to meet this requirement was motorized seatbelts, which Honda added to all it’s models in 1989.  If you look closely at these photos you can see this car has the manual seat belts which means it’s an 88, just like the one I had except it’s beige instead of maroon.

civic88dxb

