2002 Saturn SL2
2002 Saturn SL2

(Note: I’m only posting Saturns this week due to the pending death of Saturn.)  Of course I know the 2000-2002 S-Series well.  I never set out to buy another Saturn but I could not turn down the price of $400.  Of course I would have rather had a Civic, ANY Civic, but you just can’t get one that is running and isn’t completely trashed for under $2000.

That said, I have been impressed how it has held up under my daily abuse.  I think this is the best design of all the Saturns, except maybe the Sky.  The interior re-design was a huge improvement over the “pod” style interior in the 1991-1999 models.  The plastics are cr@p and there are various broken bits but when it’s clean it looks decent.  It is even fun to drive, especially with the manual transmission.  It has also been remarkably easy to repair myself.  Since I bought it with 135K miles and now have 170K miles on it I have done plenty of work on it, but it has never stranded me on the side of the road… yet.

