1971 Car Seat
1971 Car Seat

I had no idea they actually made child seats for cars in 1971.  I had no memory of any car seats at all when I was a child.  Like most other 30+ year old people  I actually rode for many miles on the shelf in the back window of the car.  If my parents had to brake hard I would fly off and land in the back seat, usually on my little sister.  As a surprise Christmas gift my parents had old Super 8 movies copied to DVD and gave me and my sister copies. I had never seen these before, and had no idea that there was much film of me as a child. I watched them last week and was SHOCKED to see this bit showing me sitting in a car seat!

Judging by the car, and the sequence of the videos and the weather, this was in the summer of 1971 which means I was around 18 months old. If you wonder where my strange preference for cars comes from, apparently I’m a product of my environment. At this time my parents owned a VW Squareback Wagon and a Renault Dauphine. The VW was a little exotic for Alabama at the time, but the Renault was seriously unusual.

