1960 Buick LeSabre
1960 Buick LeSabre

I doubt too many people would say that the early 1960’s were a great time for automobile design.  This seemed to be a period of awkward transition between the classic designs of the late 1950’s and the muscle car era of the late 1960’s.  Design-wise I think this 1960 Buick LeSabre was a mess. The odd thing is it really didn’t look that bad in person.  It certainly isn’t beautiful but somehow it works.  There are a lot of interesting details that you just don’t notice in photos.

Unfortunately my camera battery was so low that it was cutting off after every picture I took or I would have more close-up photos.  I do like the one of the front that shows the cool curved grille and the authentic “It’s nice to have you in Birmingham” front license plate from Don Drennan Buick, which has been in business since 1908.  What’s really interesting is that the Krispy Kreme is only about 100 yards from Don Drennen’s current location in Hoover, Alabama.

 

