New Tag Design
New Tag Design

Today the Governor announced what we have all been waiting to hear…  our car tags will have a new design starting in January!  O.K., nobody even had the least bit of concern about this.  Even I didn’t, and I take pride in being able to identify state plates from hundreds of yards away.  I also have a decent little antique tag collection on my garage wall.  I digress, here is the new design…  

Compared to the current standard plate, this one looks pretty good to me.  However, the current trend for “beauty” state plates is getting annoying.  Missisippi has gone to a similar plate, and it is hard to tell what state it is from without looking hard at it.  Here’s the current “Stars Fell On Alabama” standard plate…

Starting about two years ago they began offering a “free, optional” plate if you choose it over the standard plate.  It is the “God Bless America” plate.  I think it’s an interesting design, and it also uses a set numbering pattern that does not include the county number as the first part of the plate number.  This makes it impossible to tell if a car is from another county just by looking at the tag number.  I have one of these plates for several reasons.  #1, it doesn’t cost more.  #2, it’s harder to read the numbers on the road.  #3, I like the flag design.  I’ll keep my “flag tag”.

