I know this sort of topic is probably the last thing you would expect to read on this blog, but I really can’t think of a more fitting tribute to a truly special lady.  Yesterday I got word that Pauline “P.J.” Brengelman has died.  Unfortunately I am a little late getting the word and missed the services held yesterday.  I am really sad both to hear that she has passed and that I missed the chance to pay my respects to her and George.

I met George and P.J. when I joined the CAMS Miata Club in 1999.  Despite the 25(+) year age difference I enjoyed being around them because they seemed to have a great love of life and really enjoyed doing things together.  P.J. was always fun to have around, quick to break into laughter, and loved a good joke.  She was very outgoing and seemed truly glad to see everyone she met. 

During numerous club outings and weekend trips I got to know P.J. and George quite well, even though I lived in Montgomery at the time.  P.J. even set me up on a date with her niece once, which I think was one of the highest compliments a grown woman can pay.  Looking back on it now, if I ever had to choose parents other than my own (mine are great!), I would choose P.J. and George.

As a couple P.J. and George seemed to be a perfect match.  They met later in life and you could instantly tell the happiness and enjoyment they shared together.  I think anyone who spent any time around them hopes for that type of relationship in their own life.  I know I do. 

Over the past few years I lost touch with George and P.J., and I truly regret it.  I think it has been over five years since I have seen them. Occasionally I have wondered how they were doing.  Unfortunately it takes losing someone special to remind us how important it is to remain in touch with our friends and family.

Obituary in The Birmingham News

Text from Obituary:

BRENGELMAN, PAULINE J. “PJ”, age 67, of Trussville, AL, passed away on June 28, 2008. She was a member of Huffman United Methodist Church. She is preceded in death by her mother, Evelyn Mapes Cowdy; and son, Ronald K. Johnson. She is survived by her husband, George D. Brengelman of Trussville, AL; son, Jeffery S. Johnson (Deede) of Trussville, AL; daughter, Cherrie A. Phillips of California; grandchildren, Heather, Leanna, Billy and Dillion; aunt, Wilma Mapes. Services will be held on Wednesday, July 2, 2008 at 12:00PM at Jefferson Memorial Chapel with burial following at Jefferson Memorial Gardens East. Visitation will be one hour prior to services on Wednesday. Walter Rush officiating. Jefferson Memorial Trussville directing.

