For all the drawbacks of where I work, the big bonus is all the gems in the parking lot every day.  Here we have the latest marvel of D.I.Y. engineering, an unfortunate Kia Spectra.  After plowing into Lord-only-knows-what, the “Liability Only” owner just took care of it himself.  But this one wouldn’t just “buff right out”…

Yes, the composite headlight was replaced with a standard rectangular unit.  But that’s not the best part!  Check out that mounting method!  As best I could tell it is a wadded up t-shirt, taped into a ball to provide cushion for the new headlight. I think the intent was to make the car technically legal, as in “has two headlights”.  Clearly there is no effort made to aim this thing.  And the turn signal?  Just the bulb dangling is fine…

The rest of the damage is cosmetic, other than the smashed windshield.  That CANT be street legal! But for those of you who don’t live in the Great State of Alabama, there are no vehicle inspections.  This means it’s completely up to law enforcement to stop and ticket cars like this.  Since they really do have more important things to do, it rarely happens unless they need an excuse to pull someone over.  Since this owner is “DWB” I’m kind of surprised he hasn’t been pulled over. 

This wire on the dash scares me a little.  What could this possibly be for?  It appears to be speaker wire but why would the two parts be twisted together?  I’m glad he parks far away from my car because I fully expect this to be a big fireball one day…

 

