Datsun PickupMy Dad had an early 70’s Datsun pickup similar to this one but older by a few years.   It was actually the first vehicle I ever had any part of driving.  I would sit in the middle next to him and shift the 4 speed stick.  I’m not sure exactly what age I started doing that but it had to be 5 or 6.

This was also the first vehicle I ever steered.  Sometimes he would let me get on his lap and steer once we were near the house.  I remember it well.  It was a creamy white color, and was a dinky little truck with no extras at all, no A/C, power steering, power brakes, carpet, etc.  But it worked great for my Dad, he kept it clean and drove it every day for 10 years.  He sold it when he bought the 1981 Caprice Estate wagon.

This orange Datsun appears to be from the last half of the 70’s, the early 70’s ones had an aluminum grille. I found it at Wal-mart of course, which is my SOTS gold mine these days.

