Econoline

I guess I’ve got spring fever. Since I’ve been too lazy busy to write new stuff the past few days I thought this might be a good time to re-live the glory days of email S.O.T.S. before I started doing the blog. Back when my photography was even worse than it is now.

So to get started let’s check out this awesome Ford Econoline with a “Mexican A-Team” treatment. Not sure about the year, I would guess either late 60’s or early 70’s. I apologize for the photo quality but it was getting dark and I’m surprised they came out as well as they did. This was in the parking lot at Advance Auto. I didn’t meet the owner but I can guarantee he spoke little Eenglaaze so it wouldn’t have done any good to talk to him.

Econoline

This van is CLEAN! The huge one-piece front grille and the bumpers were near-new. The paint and wheels were a year or two old. There did not appear to be anything inside other than the front two seats, so this was probably a factory panel/work van.

Econoline

But check out that wing! We wouldn’t want the back end of this thing to get light at 100+, would we? Of course the white racing stripe is no where else on the van, so I’m not sure if they did it for the cheese factor or if they got the wing that way. And don’t miss the required CB antenna visible somewhere in the middle. No tag on it, so it probably had just changed owners. Lucky guy. Both the buyer and the seller.

Despite being parked “out”, you know, so no one would ding it, this thing dominated the parking lot. The red pinstripes were suprisingly low-key. This thing needed a big red “A-Team” arrow down the side. Gotta love the irony of the tire brand also. “Futura”. “Ford”. Get it?

