Mazda B2000

I’m continuing my unintentional truck theme today after a break yesterday for something a little special.  It’s interesting how many good small affordable pick-ups were available 20 years ago. If I remember correctly the big selling point for these trucks was a $3,995 base price tag, which caused the American automakers to accuse Mazda of dumping. Sales were so good that a few years later the Guvment finally put a 25% tax on imported pickups, which I think is still in effect today.

Mazda B2000

You don’t see many of the old B2000’s around today, but I do see a few of the 86-93 B-Series trucks around. This one has seen plenty of miles but is still in use. My Mazda sources indicate that the engines were usually gone between 150-20oK miles but were easy rebuilds, so many are still on the road today with 300-400K miles on the bodies.

