1997 Chevy S-10

While the Silver Bullet was being rebuilt I had reached a big decision. I was making enough money to afford another payment as long as it was below $250. I had also decided that I really needed another truck. I had always liked the S-10, and knew that I could get a 4 cylinder with a 5 speed stick for around $13,000. That put my payment just under $240.

1997 Chevy S-10

Of course I couldn’t just have any old S-10 right off the lot. I had looked at several dealerships, searched all the possible options on-line, and decided EXACTLY what I wanted if I was going to buy a new one. And with so many Chevy dealers around I thought I could find the exact truck I wanted somewhere. Of course most of the dealers wanted to sell me one off the lot or take a special order, and several “ran a search” and said there wasn’t one out there. But I kept looking and eventually found a salesman at a Chevy dealer in Birmingham that found the truck and even gave me a better price than the Montgomery guys quoted. He had it transferred in from Anniston and I went and got it.

1997 Chevy S-10

The pictures you see here are my actual S-10. It had the “LS” package, which basically meant it had carpet, cloth seats, a chrome grille, and alloy wheels. The hard thing to find was the long bed, it was a 7-1/2 foot bed instead of the standard 5-1/2 foot bed on all small trucks. Most every long bed S-10 you would find on a dealer lot also had the 4.3 V6 and an automatic transmission, which added about $2,000 to the price of the truck, putting it out of my price range. The longer bed also included a beefed-up rear suspension, increasing payload from 1000 to 1500 pounds. Of course it was more important to me that it made the suspension stiffer when it wasn’t loaded, which improved handling. And I had to have the specific colors also, white exterior with the charcoal interior, and no extra trim and pinstripes. I wanted the clean monochrome look, and I got it.

Overall this was a great little truck. It got over 20 mpg, had just enough power to be fun with the 5-speed, and looked good. It even did some real truck duty also, hauling 10 sheets of sheetrock home from Lowe’s in one trip. We also drove it to Charleston, S.C. for a weekend trip, and for 2 adults it was just fine although cruise control would have been really nice. I had the truck when I got divorced, so it was my only ride for the first year of my return to Single Glory. I sold it to a co-worker when I bought my midlife crisis car.

Other Flashback Fridays:
#14: 1972 Chevrolet C-10
#13: 1999 Mazda Miata
#12: 1997 Mazda Protege LX
#11: 1997 Chevrolet S-10
#10: 1983 Civic Wagon
#9: 1982 Accord LX Sedan & 1996 Accord LX Wagon
#8: 1989 Voyager & 1996 Saturn SW2
#7: 1971 Chevrolet C-10
#6: 1971 MG MGB
#5: 1989 VW Cabriolet & 1989 Oldsmobile Ciera
#4: 1988 Honda Civic LX
#3: 1986 Honda Civic DX
#2: 1981 Chevy Caprice Estate & 1983 Toyota Tercel
#1: 1972 Chevy Nova

