Caprice Estate

After the Nova was declared to be “parked” we needed transportation. We being me and my sister who was now 16 also. Mom had just taken delivery of her shiny new 1988 Accord LX, which was also declared off limits thanks to Mr. Insurance. For not quite a year my sister and I shared daily-driving duties in a set of other wheels. The first was the trusty ole wagon, a 1981 Chevrolet Caprice Estate very similar to the one below. I spent a LOT of time in that car during the 12-16 age range, which seemed so long at the time. I have discussed it here before so I’ll spare you today.


Toyota Tercel

The other was a 1983 Toyota Tercel 4 door hatchback like the one below, except it was gold. Not beige metallic, it was PIMP GOLD. Good Lord I think I am still trying to get that thing to 60 mph. With it’s monster 1.3L 4 cylinder engine it pumped out an unknown but probably two digit horsepower. It’s automatic transmission had three speeds, slow, slower, and slowest.

Technically neither of these were actually “my cars”, so I’m not really counting them. But it is important to know about what I had to endure before I took possession of what I would drive for the next five years and 150,000 miles, and what still clouds my automotive judgement twenty years later.

