It was bound to happen sooner or later. What? A day without “Seen on the Street”. I just muffed it, didn’t really have much and got busy and forgot. Rather than back-date one I’m going to let it go, and make up for it with an extra boring version today. It has finally gotten cold here in the 205 so it is actually starting to feel like Christmas. That got me to thinking about what I want for Christmas. The easy answer is a night with two blondes, but that is so obvious that it isn’t even worth typing. So lets stick with automotive desires. That means a night with two blondes in a conversion van! Neither one of those is going to happen, so here are a few things that I REALLY WILL be getting for Christmas:

B&M Leather Shift Knob

B&M Leather Shift Knob
Yeah, it’s for the Saturn. No, there is nothing else leather on the car. But when you’re driving a stick-shift it makes a huge difference. I’m obviously not a “luxury” snob but when the shifter (and steering wheel, maybe birthday?) feel nice it makes the driving experience just a little better. This one is very similar to the Nardi leather knob that I put on my Miatas that came from the 1999 Special Edition Miata. It’s $25, so it’s a good cheap gift, and since it’s “universal” fit I can keep it for use on other cars in the future. I still have the Nardi knob from the Miatas but it is threaded and won’t fit any other cars.

K&N Air Filter

K&N Air Filter
You all should know what this is, and of course it’s for the Saturn. While a $40 K&N filter is a 10% investment for the Saturn, it’s cleanable and it will probably help me get another MPG (and another HP) and even a plain Fram paper filter for this car is $15. It’s a no-brainer, and I gotta get something for X-mas, I would rather it be something I can use.

Grand Prix DVD

Grand Prix DVD
I taped most of this movie when it aired on Speed a few months ago, but still haven’t watched all of it. The footage of actual 60’s Formula 1 racing is amazing. And it was one of the first times that actual in-car racing footage was filmed, maybe the first. The fact that Rockford (aka James Garner) is the main character makes it funny in a way also. Bad plot, bad acting, but incredible racing footage.

LeMans DVD

LeMans DVD
Most every auto magazine and website has said this is the best racing movie ever. There supposedly isn’t even any dialogue until about 40 minutes into it. I haven’t seen it yet, but if they say it’s better than Gran Prix I gotta have it also. I’ll let you know.

