THIS is a CAR!!! They don’t make them like this any more…

Some of you know that I have a weird attachment to 71-72 vehicles (owned 4), especially 72 though. Thanks to Google I am able to say with much certainty that this is a 1972. They only made one model Cadillac back then, so it is either a Calais, Deville, or Brougham, based on what trim level the owner purchased. I am having to fight the urge to go back and get the VIN and break down the options. There is either a 472 or a 500 cubic inch big block under that hood. Get this… the hood opens forward, old BMW style!

It’s for sale! Come on guys, if you each contribute $50 I could probably buy this thing. Plus I’ll need another fiddy for a tow home, I’d be shocked if it actually runs. And we could ALL ride in it once I get it running, it must seat 12 at least. Since it appears to be abandoned in the Wal-mart parking lot I’ll bet you a dollar there is a dead body or two in that trunk…

Did I mention that this thing is big? According to specs online it is 20’10” long. That means that I could not put it in my garage and close the door. It is FOUR FEET longer than our Accord.

There are a lot of neat details on the car. I like how the side marker light and cornering lights are combined behind a mini-grille (below). and the turn-signal pods on top of the fenders were cool things that I think they should have kept around. I remember my grandfather’s 1976 Chrysler Cordoba had chrome ones, it was cool to look way out there and see it blinking. I also like the way the side trim cuts through the rear side marker in back (above).

