Saab 9000 Turbo
Saab 9000 Turbo

Another mid 80’s rocket that is no big deal now, the Saab 9000 Turbo. I can’t remember how many years it’s been since I’ve seen one of these running, so imagine how surprised I was to walk out in the parking lot after work and find this sitting there. It’s in better shape than most of them were in 1990.

That’s right, shiny original paint. Clearly this one was garaged and rarely driven. The headlights aren’t even really hazy. The interior looks good, only minor wear on the leather. I didn’t even think about looking at the mileage, I’m so used to digital odometers now that I forgot that this one probably has the old style dial that you can read. The cheapo fog lights on the front actually sort of fit this car. I’ve got a set of huge vintage rectangular Bosch driving lights that would be perfect for this.

When you saw the wing and the “turbo” badge on the back you knew it could outrun most cars at the time, except maybe a Vette or a 5.0 Mustang. The only problem with this one is the color and it’s got an automatic. If this one had a stick I might have to trade the Saturn for it.

saab 9000 front

