Road Trip: Fort Toulouse

FortToulouse-1680x1050

A week ago I took my son on a little road trip for the weekend. We didn’t go very far, we spent the weekend Geocaching in the Montgomery area, and staying at my parents house. On Sunday we took my parents along and headed northeast to Wetumpka to find some geocaches there. The last stop of the afternoon was at historic Fort Toulouse/Fort Jackson at the place where the Coosa and Tallapoosa rivers join to form the Alabama River.

I visited Fort Toulouse several times as a child, including camping there at least once, but I haven’t been back in at least 25 years. I even spent my teen years in Wetumpka after my parents moved there to “live in the country” in 1982, but Fort Toulouse is one of those places that locals forget after a while because there is nothing “exciting” to do there.

Fort Toulouse was first built by French settlers in 1717, then later rebuilt in the 1800’s by the U.S. Government as Fort Jackson after the Creek Indians surrendered to Gen. Andrew Jackson here in 1814, who later became President Andrew Jackson. The Creek Indians have lived in this area since approximately 400 A.D. and Spanish explorer Hernando DeSoto is believed to have passed through here in 1540 also.

In recent years it is more famous for it’s movie role as the location for the village of Spectre in the 2004 movie Big Fish. As we were walking back through the park from finding a geocache, I realized we were walking in the field used in a scene in the movie, and noticed the moon rising over the trees to the east at 3:00pm, and thought it might make a nice photo so I snapped a quick one. It turned out pretty well considering the lack of planning or thought that went into it, and it is now my computer desktop background image for a while. It really is one of those naturally beautiful parks where you can just feel the history, and I hope to be able to go back alone with time to take more photos. I’ve included several desktop-sized versions of this shot below for anyone who may want to use it, just click on your size and the photo will display, then right-click on it and click “Set as Desktop Background”. All I ask is that if you use it on another website please give credit and a link. Of course I took some of my “normal” SOTS photos while in the Montgomery area also, I’ll be posting those over the next week or two. Stay tuned.

One Response to Road Trip: Fort Toulouse

  1. jennifer says:

    One day, I am going to take my kids Geocaching. It sounds like so much fun.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

