1983-86 Mercury Marquis

Mercury Marquis

Mercury Marquis

When you see heaps like this you wonder how Ford made it past 1990. This was a rebadged Ford LTD, but not the Crown Victoria LTD, it was the Fairmont based LTD. And of course this should not be confused with the Grand Marquis.

Due to my brilliant photo skillz you can’t see the “Marquis Brougham” badge on the back. Thanks to the web I now know that it was the top trim level, with all options that Ford had at the time. I was lucky enough to witness the owner come out of the Dollar store (seriously) and drive off in the thing. Sure enough it was an old geezer and it had one mutha of a belt squeal when he cranked it. Time to get that belt tightened Gramps. And a wash. And a wax. Nevermind, its not worth it.

Mercury Marquis Brougham Mercury Marquis Brougham

You can see him here at the stop light, proof that the heap is still mobile. I wonder who he’s talking to with those two antennae on top. This thing just wouldn’t be right without a CB radio inside.

5 Responses to 1983-86 Mercury Marquis

  1. Kim says:

    This was my first car (I am 32 now) and it was a car that never died! Had oil coming out of every angle, including the dipstick. I just put more in every few days. After a couple of years I sold it for a dollar. It last 3 more years!!! AND….what killed it was the transmission and NOT the engine blow by. These things are tanks….however, I drive a Scion now. Phew.

  2. joe larosa says:

    my 1983 marquis is a great car its 3.3 straight 6 cyl was used over 10 years in as many Ford cars with great results My car has 41K original miles and I just read another owner of a 1983 mercury with 195K miles on it that must be why it was called THE MILEAGE MAKER I also owned 14 new cars over the last 50 years made in England Sweden Germany Italy Japan and France BUT MY 1983 MERCURY PROUDLY DISPLAYS AN ‘EARLY AMERICAN’ CT. LICENSE PLATE and the OLD MAN who drives it,may have spent his 19th birthday in a fox hole somewhere so you could choose what ever car that makes you feel like a HOT ROD

    • jake says:

      AWESOME IAM BUYING A 1983 MIDSIZED MERCURY MARQUIS BROUGHAM NEXT WEEK ITS RED IT HAS THE 3.8L V6 AND ITS A NICE BRIGHT RED COLOR ITS GOT LITTLE TO NONE RUST THEY ARE MOVING SO THEY GOTTA GET RID OF IT AND THEY SAID MAKE US AN OFFER SINCE THEY HAVE TO GET RID OF IT FAST AND I OFFERED 150$ SINCE THERE WAS A 1984 MIDSIZED FORD LTD FOR THAT MUCH AND BOTH WERE IN PRETTY GOOD SHAPE ANYWAYS IAM GONNA GO CHECK THE CAR OUT TOMORROW ANYWAYS ITS GREAT TO SEE SOMEONE LIKE YOURSELF THAT LIKES THESE ME PERSONALLY I LOVED THESE CARS AND ITS NICE TO SEE SOMEONE LIKE YOURSELF THAT DOES TO LIKE ME ANYWAYS CHEERS MAN

  3. HotRod says:

    joe larosa, I think you miss the point entirely. I agree that this gentleman is probably a veteran as you describe, and if I were to meet him I would gladly thank him for his service the same way I have thanked my father and uncles who were in Vietnam and my grandfather who went in on D-Day and did get frostbitten toes in a foxhole somewhere in eastern France. I also thank my brother-in-law who is now a Lt. Col. in the Army and has been to Bosnia, Afghanistan, and 3 trips to Iraq.

    I’m sure this is/was a fine automobile and if you read this website a while you will see that I actually appreciate that these vehicles are still being driven. I get the impression that you think I’m some punk kid, but in a few weeks I’ll be 40 years old. I grew up in/around automobiles of the 70′s and 80′s so I “get” that these were decent respectable rides in their day.

    This little website is intended to be a humorous look at some of the unusual things you would see on the street. You also assume that I must be driving some nice vehicle, which if you poke around on the website some you will also see is incorrect. I drive an older Saturn that I paid $400.00 for, and haven’t done any “hot rodding” to unless you include a new cheap set of skinny tires and a set of floor mats. But I am grateful for it and take care of it just as well as if I paid $40,000 for it because I know that it will last a long time if I do, and I’m saving a ton of money in the process.

    For those of you who love your Fairmonts and Marquis’s(?) who might find this page from Google searches, enjoy your rides, and PLEASE take care of them and keep them on the road! I would much rather prefer to have decent ones to photograph instead of junk ones. If some of you would like to send photos of your nice ones please do, use the contact button above and I’ll gladly do a feature on your ride and let you tell your story.

  4. shelley mckey says:

    I’m getting a 1983 marquis today from a little old lady who never drove it and it has 13,000 miles on it, so she drove this car in 28 years a total of 465 a year, this car is like a brand new car.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

